At first I wasn’t going to give
this issue the time of day; when I saw it posted on twitter, it made me angry.
Fighting my instinct to start throwing backhanded insults on a whim, I decided
to hold my tongue and reflect. Then something funny happened, I saw the irony
of the situation. While I was planning a scathing rebuttal, I realized how
childish the post was. So rather than throw a medium sized tantrum, I have
decided to point out the irony of the situation and the stupidity of the person
who posted it.
I will not name names because despite
this person’s idiocy I believe everyone is entitled to their own privacy. Those
who get the gist of it will understand and to those that don’t well you can
just write it off as an inside funny. To summarize the video in question: “Fuck
those who unfollow…..dude.” When did twitter fall under totalitarian rule? Well
I exercise my right to unfollow pretentious artistic bullshit, without reason
anytime I please……dude.
Furthermore I think it is highly inappropriate
to post a video telling people to “fuck off” when they unfollow you. Especially
when you compare the number of those who follow said account to those said
account follows. Basically what I took away from author of this video: Fuck the
free thinkers, those who have differing opinions and who don’t subscribe to my BS.
To make my point perfectly clear I must post a video about it, even though I elicit
enough attention without stirring the waves and causing drama. (BTW telling
unfollowers to “fuck off” will not raise the rallying flags and inspire them to
follow in future.)
Let me point out that most of the “I
love this post” comments were garnered by 18 year old's.I think those in the
public eye have an obligation because of their position to act in a respectful manner. Earning praise for
being a Good Samaritan and helping those less fortunate, not because everyone
else is watching but because down to the core they are a good person.
The
opposite of that would be posting video’s telling people to fuck off. To the author of the video: Really,
that’s great that you don’t care what people think; I can only assume then that
you will not care that I posted my thoughts, which as you can see are
organized/better formed. I did not have to resort to a guttural “fuck you,”
although I believe that message was delivered by me in much more articulate manner.
No comments:
Post a Comment